Capture One Reality

Today I decided to take a little time to describe what Capture one Reality means to me, and why I titled my site such a thing! I didn’t expect to write so much on it…but God opened up my memory to the beginning of this movement I call “Capture one Reality” and how much it really has changed my mindsets and my life.

Capture: To take into possession

Reality: is the conjectured state of things as they actually exist, rather than as they may appear or might be imagined. In a wider definition, reality includes everything that is and has been, whether or not it is observable or comprehensible. Everything that has existed, exists, or will exist.

Not only is Capture one Reality the name of my blog site, it is a reminder to me of how Christ is the goal.  It’s a movement. It wasn’t just a title that I pondered on for hours and thought of just to begin my blog, but The phrase has actually been on my heart for some time now. By  “some time” I mean it was the starting phrase in my ‘About Me’ section of my MYSPACE!! Yup, at 13 years old God gave me a dream, an understanding that everyone has their own reality, a mindset they live by, or live for. I believe in one reality, one goal, one mindset and that is to know christ.

Everyone has experiences and things they’ve seen that have become their reality. In some cases your reality can be false due to the sin of this world, and the decisions we make based off of fear and insecurity. I’m here to tell you, if it’s not beautiful and not Jesus, it’s not reality. At 13 I had a glimpse of my reality, though I didn’t fully understand Him yet (and not even completely at 22), I knew Jesus was more real than any tangible moment in my life…because He IS life. Without Christ nothing around me would exist, that makes Him more real than anything I could see before me.

 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. John 1:1-5

The Lord was and is my constant reality, through the storms of life and the sin banging at my door, Christ overcomes. With a love more real than any false love this world had to offer, He was reality. With a shield so strong nothing could break me, He was reality. With a comforting arm surrounding me through heart ache, He was reality. With an incomparable generosity as all my needs were always fulfilled, He was reality. No one could ever tell me other wise, because I know with all my heart He was my strength, my comfort, my provider, my reality! He is who gets me through this moment called life.

Understanding the fact that God was more real than any physical object, the phrase “Capture one reality” truly began to press on my heart. Not only was it a fun saying…it was my truth. God gives us the choice to let him be our reality, we just have to take hold or capture it on our own will. Capture Reality was my reminder that it is my choice to take hold of that which Christ had freely given me. A reminder that nothing but beauty and joy rest in his truth, and it’s my choice to capture that eternity.

My thoughts on the phrase began to flourish as I realized I wanted to express my reality, not with hold it for myself. As I grew, So did my vision for “Capture one Reality.” Now instead of just my own personal relationship with God, I was moved to the beauty of expression. I wanted with all my heart to EXPRESS REALITY.  To in some way physically capture it for others to see. Whether that be through writing, photography, dance, etc. Thus, once I decided to start blogging, the name of my blog became what I so strongly wanted my writing to do. Within every detail that I scribe I want the beauty of Christ to be captured, for the reality of Christ to be seen through each piece.

God is in our passions, and when we use them we are sharing God’s image, His character, His reality. So to me Capturing Reality is about expressing the one truth known as Christ. When we understand God’s love and let Him become our truth we begin to forget the troubles of this world, because our circumstances aren’t our reality. Circumstances pass by in a moment, while christ remains and will always remain for eternity. To capture the reality of God is to breathe and know you’re safe, to know you’re going to be okay, it’s to be at peace in any storm. It’s to write and see His hand in yours, to dance and see your feet following His, it’s to take a photo and see what He see’s and create as he created, it’s to sing and hear the song of creation, it’s to paint as he painted the heavens and the earth, it’s to live and know who you’re living for. To capture reality is to see Christ in everything you do.

Time to take hold of your reality.

Leave a Reply

